Print PDF


Athletes in Excellence Award

June 3, 2014


These attributes are often found in elite athletes. It is what makes them so successful in their chosen sport. As a spectator, when I watch the Olympic Games or other high-level sporting events, I can’t help but marvel at the prowess and skill of the athletes. They make it look so easy but of course we all know it’s not. It takes a great deal of hard work and dedication to reach that level of sport.

In spite of the time and energy required to excel in sport, some athletes choose to go above and beyond. In the world of sport, there exists a handful of athletes who put forth the same dedication to their community as they give to their sport. On top of training, they devote valuable time to improving their local and global communities.


These very athletes helped inspire our “Athletes in Excellence” Award, our latest awards program. We want to recognize the members of our sport communities who give so much and help make this world a better place. It is important that we highlight these incredible role models, spotlighting their accomplishments and good deeds. Too often we hear of athletes making bad choices in life and sport. With this award, we hope to shift the public’s focus onto those who are making positive changes.

The Athletes in Excellence Award from The Foundation for Global Sports Development recognizes exceptional athletes who uphold the values of good sportsmanship and fair play on the field as well as off the field. Do you know of an athlete who spends countless hours volunteering their skills and time to better the lives of others? Submit your nomination to The Foundation for Global Sports Development, and share the athlete’s good deeds around the world.

A total of ten athletes (five international and five domestic) will be awarded unrestricted grants each in the amount of $10,000. Award winners will be announced in fall of 2014.


  • Retired or actively competing elite athletes are eligible for nomination.

  • Submit nominations to

  • All nominations must be made by August 15, 2014.